Minneapolis College Adds to Accredited Programs

Technical building

Minneapolis College is one of 19 colleges and universities nationwide awarded accreditation this year from the National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP).

The college’s concurrent enrollment program, College NOW, offers high school students the opportunity to take college courses and earn Minneapolis College credit while they are in their high schools during their normal high school schedule.

Receiving NACEP accreditation means an institution has met the nation’s most rigorous standard in concurrent enrollment program development, management and evaluation.  As the nation’s only accrediting body for these unique and impactful educational partnerships, NACEP’s standards serve as the model criteria for ensuring parity in faculty, course content and student outcomes.

“The project team’s success will benefit all of the high school students in our partner school districts for the next five years, “said Vincent Thomas, Dean of Business and Economics and the School of Trade Technology at Minneapolis College.

“Concurrent enrollment for high school students is the ‘give yourself a college scholarship’ program because it allows high school students to earn college credits tuition free. I’m delighted that we can now go to high school students and their parents with that value proposition, backed with NACEP accreditation.”

The College NOW program is overseen by Academic Foundations at the College and has been in operation for the last 5 years. The program is a collaborative effort across college divisions. Faculty members, who serve as liaisons, are particularly key to ensuring the program’s commitment to academic integrity.

“Congratulations to our newly accredited and re-accredited programs. The institutions being recognized have demonstrated adherence to high academic standards for their concurrent enrollment program and should be applauded for their commitment to quality programming” remarked Diana Johnson, NACEP Accreditation Commission Chair.