Facebook Pixel Code

About Us


MCTC’s Outstanding Educators for 2017 named

Outstanding Educators at MCTC 2016-17
Outstanding Educators
Kirk Boraas, Maran Wolston, Gill Creel

Each year, the Minnesota State Board of Trustees recognizes excellence in teaching through its Educator of the Year Award program.

As part of this program, faculty from each two-year college identify colleagues who will be recognized as Outstanding Educators. These Outstanding Educators are then forwarded to the system office to be considered for the Board of Trustees’ statewide Educator of the Year Award.

The three faculty members who have been selected as Outstanding Educators of the Year for MCTC are:

  • Kirk Boraas, Chemistry
  • Maran Wolston, Philosophy
  • Gill Creel, English

There was considerable participation in this year’s nomination process. A total of 70 faculty were nominated by students, staff and fellow faculty; it was exciting to see this year that the majority of the nominators were students. A committee of three former Outstanding Educators narrowed the nominees down to the three faculty listed above, and forwarded their names to the President’s Office. These 2016-17 MCTC Outstanding Educators will be honored along with other Outstanding Educators from other two-year institutions throughout the Minnesota State system at an award ceremony on April 19, 2017. At that event, a select few of the Outstanding Educators will be named Educators of the Year.
In addition to being honored at the system-wide luncheon, MCTC will host a reception on Thursday, April 27 from 3 to 5 p.m. in the General Mills Room (L.3100) to celebrate our three 2016-17 Outstanding Educators. Please join us in congratulating these three talented individuals!