Facebook Pixel Code

About Us


New Chief Communications Officer

Deanna SheelyMCTC is pleased to welcome Deanna Sheely as our new Chief Communications Officer and Associate to the President. Deanna has more than 20 years of experience crafting communication strategies in the public and private sectors. Her expertise in developing strategic, goal-oriented communications has been recognized at state and national levels as examples of best strategic marketing communication practices.

Since 2009, Deanna has worked in Corporate Communications at Xcel Energy. There, she has contributed to corporate goals through the development and execution of digital and traditional marketing communication strategies for internal and external audiences. Her comprehensive communication plans supported specific initiatives such as corporate strategy, nuclear power plant outages, new software rollouts, safety campaigns, employee engagement, performance improvement, compliance and diversity in the workplace. During her tenure there, she was selected to represent Xcel Energy on a communications best practices peer group through a national alliance for nuclear power.

Prior to Xcel Energy, Deanna was the Director of Communications for the City of Red Wing for more than seven years. There, she worked closely with the City Council, Mayor and Administrator to establish and reach organizational goals. Her primary focus was on building an internal and external communication strategy including channels such as Local Government Access television, a website, social media, media relations, community events and printed publications to inform the public and employees about city projects, issues and initiatives.

Deanna has a bachelor’s degree in Mass Communications from St. Cloud State University with an emphasis in Public Relations and Advertising as well as a minor in Graphic Design. She also graduated from Suomi (Finlandia) College in Hancock, Michigan with an associate’s degree in Marketing.

Deanna will join the college on January 4, 2017 in the Office of the President.