Facebook Pixel Code

About Us


MCTC accepting nominations for Educator of the Year

Students, faculty, administrators, staff, and community members invited to nominate MCTC faculty

Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC) is pleased to invite you to nominate MCTC faculty for this year's annual Minnesota State Board of Trustees Educator of the Year Award for Excellence in Teaching. Nominations, including a brief 200-word letter of support, should be submitted using this online form.

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, Dec. 7 at 4:30 p.m.

These local nominees will be reviewed by a selection committee of past MCTC awardees, which the MCTC Vice President of Academic Affairs will convene.

MCTC encourages you to take this opportunity to nominate a faculty member for this prestigious award program.

About the Award

The Board of Trustees Educator of the Year Award for Excellence in Teaching is an honor bestowed upon faculty in the Minnesota State colleges and universities system to acknowledge and reward exceptional individual professional accomplishment, and to encourage ongoing excellence, in teaching.

All faculty who are currently full-time and unlimited, tenured, or tenure-track, and who have at least three years of full-time teaching service at their home institution are eligible for this award.

Nominators must be members of the college or university community: faculty, administrators, students, staff, or community members. Faculty, however, may not self-nominate.

Faculty who are designated as Outstanding Educators by their campus president must prepare a teaching portfolio which will be reviewed by a system-wide review committee. This system-wide committee will recommend the year's system-wide Educator of the Year award winners.

MCTC instructors who have been recognized by the Board of Trustees in the past include:

2016:  Ellen Lewin, Ursula Walsh, Jonathan Lofgren
2015:  Taiyon Coleman, Kim Munson, Linda Russell
2014:  Bayla McDougal, Greg Skudlarek, Cheryl Neudauer (honored as Educator of the Year)
2013:  Marcella Jones, John Plomondon
2012:  Hafed Bouassida, Jane Leach
2011:  Kathleen DeVore
2010:  Todd Bridigum
2009:  Lynn Bollman, Judith Caney, Joseph Rine
2008:  Shirley Flittie, Barbara Hager
2007:  Felix Ampah, Steve Kaufman