MCTC offices will be closed from 8 a.m.–1 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 20 for professional development.

About Us

Media Release

Outstanding Educator Nominees

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees Honors Four with “Educator of the Year” Award 

MCTC’s Hafed Bouassida and Jane Leach among 37 Outstanding Educator nominees 

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) Board of Trustees presented the system’s highest academic honor, the Educator of the Year Award, to four faculty members. The honorees were selected as part of the MnSCU Board of Trustees Excellence in Teaching award program, which recognizes professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence.

Hafed Bouassida and Jane LeachThe winners were selected from 37 faculty members named Outstanding Educators by their presidents and based on nominations by students, faculty peers or staff. MCTC’s Hafed Bouassida and Jane Leach were among the prestigious Outstanding Educator nominees. Evaluation criteria include teaching strategies and materials; content expertise; service to students, the profession, institution and the system; and assessment of student learning and performance. This is the sixth year of the awards.

 “These faculty members demonstrate what it takes to create an extraordinary education for our students,” said Scott Thiss, chair of the Board of Trustees. “They are among our finest faculty and staff who provide the best education available in Minnesota.”